This Is Florida · Weather · For residents and visitors
Major Hurricanes That Hit Florida: Years, Damage Costs, and Inflation-Adjusted Losses
Original damage estimates, what each estimate counts, and the same estimates in September 2026 dollars, with one account of what each storm did.
The comparison, storm by storm
Older losses look small beside a recent storm when both are left in the dollars of their own year. The last column puts the selected original estimate into September 2026 dollars. It does not create a new damage survey.
Do not add these rows into one Florida hurricane total. Some figures are United States totals. Some older rows on the second table have no opened storm report behind them. Insured claims, property damage, agriculture, and broader economic losses are not the same kind of number.
| Hurricane | Year | Selected original estimate | What that number counts | September 2026 dollars |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andrew | 1992 | $27.0 billion | U.S. total in NOAA's unadjusted compilation. NWS Miami states $26 billion. | $64.84 billion |
| Opal | 1995 | $4.7 billion | U.S. total, NOAA unadjusted compilation. Category 3 in that table. | $10.39 billion |
| Charley | 2004 | $16.0 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it southwestern Florida. | $28.54 billion |
| Frances | 2004 | $9.8 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it Florida. Category 2 in the 2025 compilation. | $17.48 billion |
| Ivan | 2004 | $20.5 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it Alabama and northwest Florida. | $36.57 billion |
| Jeanne | 2004 | $7.5 billion | U.S. total, NOAA unadjusted compilation. Category 3 in that table. | $13.38 billion |
| Dennis | 2005 | $2.5 billion | U.S. total, NOAA unadjusted compilation. Category 3 in that table. | $4.31 billion |
| Katrina | 2005 | $125.0 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it southeast Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. | $215.66 billion |
| Wilma | 2005 | $19.0 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it south Florida. | $32.78 billion |
| Matthew | 2016 | $10.0 billion | U.S. total. The 2018 NHC cost table labels it the southeastern United States. | $14.04 billion |
| Irma | 2017 | $50.0 billion | U.S. total in the NHC storm report, with a stated 90 percent range of $37.5 to $62.5 billion. NOAA's unadjusted compilation lists the same $50.0 billion. | $68.73 billion |
| Michael | 2018 | $25 billion | U.S. total in the NHC storm report. NOAA lists $25.0 billion unadjusted. | $33.55 billion |
| Ian | 2022 | $111.8 billion | U.S. total in NOAA's unadjusted compilation. The NHC report says over $112 billion. | $128.72 billion |
| Idalia | 2023 | $3.6 billion | U.S. total cited in the NHC storm report. NOAA's unadjusted table prints $3.5 billion. | $3.98 billion |
| Debby | 2024 | $2.5 billion | U.S. total in the NHC report and the NOAA compilation. The report's synopsis also gives $4 billion for the United States and Canada together. | $2.69 billion |
| Helene | 2024 | $78.7 billion | U.S. total. The NHC report says most of it was in Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, eastern Tennessee, and southwestern Virginia. | $84.53 billion |
| Milton | 2024 | $34.3 billion | U.S. total. The NHC report says the damage was almost exclusively in Florida. | $36.84 billion |
| Isaias | 2026 | Not established | Landfall near Destin on October 9, 2026, is in the NHC update. A comparable damage total was not in the products opened for this page. This is not the 2020 storm. | Not calculated |
Adjusted amounts are rounded to the nearest hundredth of a billion. NOAA's separate column of costs already adjusted to 2024 is not used here. Adjusting that column again would count inflation twice. Andrew's figure in that 2024-dollar column is $60.5 billion. This page starts from the unadjusted $27.0 billion instead.
How the September 2026 dollars were calculated
September 2026 dollars = selected original estimate × (336.940 ÷ annual CPI-U for the year of that estimate).
The 336.940 figure is the September 2026 Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, all items, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, from the Bureau of Labor Statistics release dated October 14, 2026. Each divisor is the annual average for that year, the M13 value of BLS series CUUR0000SA0.
| Estimate year | Annual CPI-U | Used for |
|---|---|---|
| 1992 | 140.3 | Andrew |
| 1995 | 152.4 | Opal |
| 2004 | 188.9 | Charley, Frances, Ivan, Jeanne |
| 2005 | 195.3 | Dennis, Katrina, Wilma |
| 2016 | 240.007 | Matthew |
| 2017 | 245.120 | Irma |
| 2018 | 251.107 | Michael |
| 2022 | 292.655 | Ian |
| 2023 | 304.702 | Idalia |
| 2024 | 313.689 | Debby, Helene, Milton |
Andrew's $27.0 billion becomes about $64.84 billion. Irma's $50.0 billion becomes about $68.73 billion. On this purchasing-power comparison, those two selected U.S. estimates sit much closer than $27 billion and $50 billion suggest. The arithmetic for Irma is 50.0 × 336.940 ÷ 245.120, which rounds to $68.73 billion.
The same original number in two different years is not the same loss of purchasing power. Dennis and Debby are both listed at $2.5 billion unadjusted. Dennis, in 2005 dollars, is about $4.31 billion in September 2026 dollars. Debby, in 2024 dollars, is about $2.69 billion.
A later CPI release will change the last column. Update it by keeping the original amount, the original year, and this formula. Do not run the formula on a figure that is already inflation-adjusted.
What each storm did
Andrew, 1992
National Weather Service Miami says Andrew was a Category 5 at landfall, with maximum sustained winds of 165 mph and a central pressure of 922 millibars. The eye crossed the northern tip of Elliott Key at 4:40 a.m. EDT on August 24, 1992, and the mainland landfall was at Fender Point, near Homestead, at 5:05 a.m. EDT. That office says about 49,000 homes were destroyed and about 108,000 damaged, almost all of the damage cost was in southern Dade County, and more than 99 percent of Homestead's mobile homes were destroyed, 1,167 of 1,176. It counts 15 direct and 28 indirect deaths in mainland South Florida, and a second landfall in south-central Louisiana as a Category 3 on August 26. NWS Miami states an estimated $26 billion in U.S. damage. NOAA's January 10, 2025 unadjusted compilation lists $27.0 billion. This page adjusts the $27.0 billion figure, which is about $64.84 billion in September 2026 dollars.
Opal, 1995
NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists Opal as a 1995 Category 3 hurricane with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $4.7 billion, about $10.39 billion in September 2026 dollars. Opal's own storm report was not opened for this page, so no landfall town is stated here. The National Weather Service Tallahassee report on the 2026 Hurricane Isaias says the Panama City Beach Pier water level during Isaias was that gauge's second-highest on record, behind Hurricane Opal in 1995.
Charley, 2004
The National Hurricane Center's January 26, 2018 table of mainland cyclones that caused at least $1 billion labels Charley as a southwestern Florida hurricane. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists an unadjusted U.S. cost of $16.0 billion, about $28.54 billion in September 2026 dollars. Charley's storm report was not opened for this page, so the towns and the mix of losses inside that total are not described here.
Frances, 2004
The same 2018 National Hurricane Center table labels Frances as a Florida hurricane. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists it as a Category 2 storm with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $9.8 billion, about $17.48 billion in September 2026 dollars. Frances's storm report was not opened for this page.
Ivan, 2004
The 2018 National Hurricane Center table labels Ivan as Alabama and northwest Florida. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists an unadjusted U.S. cost of $20.5 billion, about $36.57 billion in September 2026 dollars. That label is not a Florida-only total. Ivan's storm report was not opened for this page, so this page does not name a landfall town or split the $20.5 billion.
Jeanne, 2004
NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists Jeanne as a 2004 Category 3 hurricane with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $7.5 billion, about $13.38 billion in September 2026 dollars. Jeanne's storm report was not opened for this page, so a landfall location is not stated here.
Dennis, 2005
NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists Dennis as a 2005 Category 3 hurricane with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $2.5 billion, about $4.31 billion in September 2026 dollars. Dennis's storm report was not opened for this page. The identical unadjusted $2.5 billion listed for Debby in 2024 is a smaller sum in September 2026 dollars, about $2.69 billion, because the price index had already risen.
Katrina, 2005
NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists Katrina's unadjusted U.S. cost at $125.0 billion, about $215.66 billion in September 2026 dollars. The National Hurricane Center's January 26, 2018 table labels that storm as southeast Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. The $125.0 billion is the national event. It is not a measure of the Florida landfall by itself. Katrina's storm report was not opened for this page, so the Florida share is not stated here.
Wilma, 2005
The 2018 National Hurricane Center table labels Wilma as a south Florida hurricane. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists an unadjusted U.S. cost of $19.0 billion, about $32.78 billion in September 2026 dollars. Wilma's storm report was not opened for this page.
Matthew, 2016
The 2018 National Hurricane Center table labels Matthew as a southeastern United States hurricane, not as a Florida landfall. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists an unadjusted U.S. cost of $10.0 billion, about $14.04 billion in September 2026 dollars. Matthew's storm report was not opened for this page. The $10.0 billion is not relabeled here as a Florida loss.
Irma, 2017
The National Hurricane Center report says Irma made landfall as a Category 4 hurricane near Cudjoe Key, with maximum winds of 115 knots, and made its final landfall near Marco Island as a Category 3 at 1930 UTC on September 10. It says Irma caused widespread devastation and that hurricane-force winds extended well inland over southern Florida. The report estimates U.S. damage at approximately $50.0 billion, with a 90 percent confidence interval of $37.5 to $62.5 billion. NOAA's unadjusted compilation lists the same $50.0 billion. That selected figure is about $68.73 billion in September 2026 dollars.
Michael, 2018
The National Hurricane Center report says Michael made a catastrophic Category 5 landfall near Mexico Beach and Tyndall Air Force Base, with an estimated intensity of 140 knots and a landfall pressure of 919 millibars. The report calls it the strongest hurricane landfall on record in the Florida Panhandle. It says Michael was directly responsible for 16 deaths and about $25 billion in U.S. damage. NOAA's unadjusted compilation lists $25.0 billion. That figure is about $33.55 billion in September 2026 dollars.
Ian, 2022
The National Hurricane Center report says Ian made landfall on Cayo Costa at 1905 UTC on September 28 as a Category 4 hurricane, with an estimated intensity of 130 knots, and made another landfall near Punta Gorda about an hour and a half later at 125 knots. It later made a final landfall in South Carolina as a Category 1. The report says Ian was responsible for over 150 direct and indirect deaths and over $112 billion in damage, and it calls Ian the costliest hurricane in Florida's history and the third-costliest in United States history. NOAA's January 10, 2025 unadjusted compilation lists $111.8 billion. This page adjusts that compilation figure, about $128.72 billion in September 2026 dollars. The South Carolina landfall means the U.S. total is not a Florida-only ledger, even though the report describes Ian as the costliest hurricane in Florida's history.
Idalia, 2023
The National Hurricane Center report says Idalia made landfall near Keaton Beach around 1145 UTC on August 30, 2023, with estimated maximum sustained winds of 100 knots, Category 3 strength. It estimates maximum storm-surge inundation of 8 to 12 feet above ground level from near Keaton Beach southward through Steinhatchee. The report says Idalia caused 12 fatalities and an estimated $3.6 billion in U.S. damage. In the damage section it attributes that $3.6 billion to NOAA, says most of it occurred in Florida's Big Bend, and gives a 90 percent confidence interval of $2.6 to $4.2 billion. NOAA's January 10, 2025 unadjusted table prints $3.5 billion for Idalia, while its 2024-dollar column prints $3.6 billion. This page uses the storm report's $3.6 billion as the original amount. That is about $3.98 billion in September 2026 dollars. The $3.5 billion compilation figure is not the number being adjusted.
Debby, 2024
The National Hurricane Center report says Debby made landfall as a 70-knot Category 1 hurricane just west of Steinhatchee at 1100 UTC on August 5, 2024, then made a later landfall in South Carolina. Heavy rain caused flash flooding and long-duration river flooding. A Florida total of 16.98 inches was recorded in Sarasota, and the Manatee River at Rye Bridge crested at a record level. The report says some of the hardest-hit places were Manatee and Sarasota counties, where floodwaters inundated homes, submerged vehicles, and flooded roads. Sarasota County officials estimated $57.9 million in damage to more than 1,000 structures, with more than 500 high-water rescues. More than 160 buildings in Manatee County suffered major damage, officials estimated over $55 million in damage in that county, and more than 200 high-water rescues were reported. North Florida near the landfall track also flooded, including Live Oak and parts of Madison County. The report's damage section estimates $2.5 billion in the United States, from NOAA, and about $1.75 billion in Canada. The synopsis's $4 billion figure is the United States and Canada together. This page adjusts the $2.5 billion U.S. figure, about $2.69 billion in September 2026 dollars.
Helene, 2024
The National Hurricane Center report says Helene made landfall in the Florida Big Bend as a Category 4 hurricane about 10 nautical miles southwest of Perry, around 0310 UTC on September 27, and calls it the strongest landfalling hurricane in that region since reliable records began. Peak storm surge of 12 to 16 feet above ground level destroyed about 80 percent of the buildings in Keaton Beach and Steinhatchee. In Horseshoe Beach, surge destroyed roughly 70 percent of the town. Surge damage continued from Taylor County southward to Collier County, including record surge at Cedar Key and Yankeetown and heavy damage on Pinellas County's barrier islands, Anna Maria Island, and Bradenton Beach. The report says Helene destroyed at least 419 homes in Pinellas and Hillsborough counties combined, with at least 18,512 structures suffering major damage. Winds damaged buildings, trees, and power lines across Taylor, Dixie, and neighboring inland counties, including Perry. NOAA's estimate in the report is $78.7 billion in the United States. The report says most of that damage was in Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, eastern Tennessee, and southwestern Virginia, and it separately estimates at least $5.5 billion in agricultural and timber losses in Georgia. The $78.7 billion is the U.S. total, about $84.53 billion in September 2026 dollars. It is not a Florida-only loss.
Milton, 2024
The National Hurricane Center's landfall update says Milton made landfall near Siesta Key at 8:30 p.m. EDT on October 9, 2024, as a Category 3 hurricane with maximum sustained winds of 120 mph. The storm report says Milton reached Category 5 intensity over the Gulf before that Florida landfall and caused major damage in the Sarasota and Tampa Bay areas. It estimates storm-surge inundation of 6 to 9 feet above ground level from Venice southward to Boca Grande, with an isolated peak of up to 10 feet near Manasota Key, and it notes a new inlet cut at Manasota Key. The center crossed the peninsula and exited near Cape Canaveral. The report says NOAA estimated $34.3 billion in U.S. damage, almost exclusively in Florida, and it names the torn roof at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg as one damaged building. That $34.3 billion is about $36.84 billion in September 2026 dollars. The landfall town does not describe every place the report says was damaged.
Three labels that have to stay on every figure
| Label | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Geographic scope | A U.S. storm total cannot be relabeled as Florida's loss. Helene, Katrina, Ivan, and Matthew are the clearest examples on this page. |
| What the estimate counts | NOAA's compilation includes insured and uninsured losses and looks at costs that would not have been incurred if the event had not happened, using sources that include emergency management, agriculture, and insurance estimates. That is not the same question as an insurer's claims tally. |
| Inflation reference date | Today's dollars change when the index changes. The benchmark on this page is September 2026, CPI-U 336.940. NOAA's other column is already in 2024 dollars and is not adjusted again. |
Florida's insurance regulator collects insurer claims separately from NOAA's disaster totals. Those two sets of books answer different questions. This page does not mix a claims count into the table.
Isaias, 2026: landfall is confirmed, the damage total is not
The National Hurricane Center's 8:30 p.m. CDT update on October 9, 2026, says Hurricane Isaias made landfall near Destin with maximum sustained winds of 105 mph and an estimated minimum central pressure of 971 millibars. A National Ocean Service gauge at Panama City Beach reported 5.6 feet above mean higher high water. A WeatherFlow station near Santa Rosa Sound reported a gust of 116 mph and a sustained wind of 91 mph. The National Weather Service Tallahassee post-storm report repeats the Destin landfall, 105 mph, and 971 millibars. It reports structural damage, downed trees and power lines, power outages, blocked roads, beach erosion, seawall damage, overwash of coastal roads, and boardwalk damage in Walton, Bay, Gulf, and Franklin counties. It says the Panama City Beach Pier peaked at 5.60 feet above mean higher high water, second on that gauge's record behind Opal in 1995, and that rainfall reached 12.47 inches at DeFuniak Springs. The National Weather Service Mobile report gives peak gusts of 118 mph at Jay, 116 mph at Oriole Beach, and 114 mph at Whiting Field South, with flash flooding and 11.65 inches near Mary Esther.
A finalized damage total comparable to the NOAA compilation was not in those products. This page does not insert an early insurance estimate and does not calculate a September 2026 dollar figure. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists a different Hurricane Isaias in 2020, Category 1, with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $4.8 billion. That row is not the October 2026 storm.
Preparation pages on this site are separate from this history: Hurricane Prep, Hurricane Watch, Hurricane Codes, Flood Cleanup, King Tides, Florida Weather, and Sinkholes.
Questions
What was Hurricane Andrew's damage in today's dollars?
NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists Andrew's unadjusted U.S. damage at $27.0 billion in 1992. Using the September 2026 CPI-U of 336.940 and the 1992 annual CPI-U of 140.3, that estimate is about $64.84 billion in September 2026 dollars. The National Weather Service Miami page states an estimated $26 billion. This page adjusts the $27.0 billion compilation figure, not the $26 billion figure, and not NOAA's separate 2024-dollar figure of $60.5 billion.
Why do Andrew and Irma look closer after inflation?
Andrew's selected $27.0 billion becomes about $64.84 billion, and Irma's $50.0 billion becomes about $68.73 billion, when both are put in September 2026 dollars with the CPI method on this page. The original figures look farther apart than the purchasing-power comparison. These are calculations. They are not new damage assessments.
Does a U.S. hurricane total mean the loss was all in Florida?
No. Helene's $78.7 billion is the U.S. disaster total in the sources opened here, and the storm report describes catastrophic damage from Florida through the southern Appalachians. Katrina's $125.0 billion is labeled by the 2018 National Hurricane Center table as southeast Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. Ian's report includes a South Carolina landfall as well as Florida. A hurricane that hit Florida can still carry losses from other states in the same dollar figure.
How were the September 2026 dollar amounts calculated?
Each adjusted amount is the selected original estimate times 336.940, divided by the annual average CPI-U for the year of that estimate. The index 336.940 is the September 2026 CPI-U for all items, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, from the Bureau of Labor Statistics release of October 14, 2026. The annual averages are the M13 values of BLS series CUUR0000SA0. An amount that is already in 2024 dollars, such as NOAA's $60.5 billion Andrew figure, is not adjusted again.
What did Hurricane Isaias cost in 2026?
A finalized, comparable U.S. damage total was not in the National Hurricane Center landfall update or the National Weather Service post-storm reports opened for this page on November 7, 2026. This page does not calculate one. NOAA's January 10, 2025 compilation lists a different Hurricane Isaias in 2020, with an unadjusted U.S. cost of $4.8 billion. That is not the October 2026 storm.
Is this every hurricane that hit Florida?
No. This is a guide to major and notable hurricanes with a published damage estimate in the sources opened on November 7, 2026. It is not a complete list of every tropical cyclone that affected Florida. Rows are not added together, because some totals are national and some count a broader set of losses than insured property claims.
Sources
- NOAA NCEI, costliest U.S. tropical cyclones, updated January 10, 2025. Unadjusted costs are the starting amounts. The 2024-dollar column is not adjusted again.
- BLS CPI-U news-release Table 1, September 2026. All-items index 336.940. Release dated October 14, 2026.
- BLS series CUUR0000SA0, annual averages (period M13), retrieved from the BLS public API on November 7, 2026.
- NHC, costliest mainland tropical cyclones, January 26, 2018. Used for the area labels on Charley, Frances, Ivan, Katrina, Wilma, and Matthew. Dollars on this page come from the 2025 NOAA compilation, not from that 2018 table's inflation column.
- NWS Miami, Hurricane Andrew.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Irma.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Michael.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Ian.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Idalia.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Debby (2024).
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Helene.
- NHC tropical cyclone report, Milton, and the October 9, 2024 landfall update.
- NHC tropical cyclone update, Isaias landfall, 8:30 p.m. CDT, October 9, 2026.
- NWS Tallahassee post-tropical cyclone report, Isaias (2026).
- NWS Mobile post-tropical cyclone report, Isaias (2026).